Tags

, , , , , , , ,

First and foremost – This post is a reminder to myself first before anyone else.

Secondly – I apologise for the fact I haven’t written a post in about 4/5 months – life kind of just happened I guess. What I will say however is that I did try to get something up in this time inbetween – I currently have 4 half written posts sitting in my drafts. All on various different topics which for some reason I just haven’t found the words to finish as yet. Maybe one day they will get published, keep an eye out.

Sabr & Shukr. 

Non-Muslim/non-Arabic speaking people reading my blog will probably be asking what these two words mean.

Patience & Gratitude/Gratefulness.

I’ll be honest – these 2 things are things which we are severely lacking in society nowadays. And please remember I speak of myself here before anyone else, so don’t take it the wrong way. But it is true. We live in such a fast paced world things are constantly changing and developing as we blink I think we forget sometimes where it comes from/who its given by. God.

When things are going good, they are great. Bam. Bam. Bam. Things are getting done. Things are moving forward. Yes. Yes. Yes.

But sometimes in life we are hit with little hiccups which derail our plans for a short while. Or in some cases the destination changes altogether to some place you never would think you would end up. Either way I think we should realise that everything in life happens for a reason.

Whether that be a good thing or a bad thing, I truly believe it happens for the best reason, because it is all part of Gods plan for you. And this is where sabr comes in. Society nowadays is so fast paced, the thought of being patient seems a bit crazy. ‘This needs to happen now! I can’t wait!’. What happened to the notion of ‘good things come to those who wait’?

And on the flip side – are we grateful for what we do have? Like really and truly grateful? Because to be honest I think anyone who is able to read this post probably has a hell of a lot to be grateful for. We may find ourselves in life sometimes questioning why things don’t go the way we wanted to. The reality is sometimes we don’t get everything we want in life because a) it’s not good for you, b) something better is coming or even, c) God didn’t allow that thing to happen to show you all the other things you already have and be grateful for what you already have.

I have found that the less you have, the more grateful you are for it. Or if you struggle for something – you cherish that more. Whereas if everything is handed out on a plate, you don’t learn sabr, and in turn there is no shukr.

Without getting too personal I will say that right now I find myself at a stage in my life where I’m not sure exactly what is going to happen and I have a few big decisions to make. And frankly the thought of this terrifies me! But what I do know, and what I always try to remind myself of when I feel down or am scared about the future is – is that everything happens for the best reason. I may have lost a lot of things, but I still have so much in my life to be grateful for! And a lot of changes may be about to happen in the near future, but I just have to be patient. Nothing happens overnight, but when it does, it will be the best it can possibly be. Insha’Allah. (God Willing)

Let me know your thoughts on this topic in the comments below. As usual, I am a rambley mess and I’m not quite sure how much of it made sense but I hope you found it an enjoyable read(?) Maybe. And if I could be a bit selfish and request anyone reading this to remember me in their prayers I will be eternally grateful.

Peace & Love,

T’x

 

