Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

السَّلاَمُ عَلَيْكُمْ وَرَحْمَةُ اللهِ وَ بَرَكَاتُهُُ

I probably should have mentioned beforehand that as we got into the last 10 days of Ramadan posts would be sparse. I’m sorry for that, but I just haven’t found the time, what with laylatul Qadr, and just generally trying to get as much done as possible before Ramadan ends. And by that I don’t mean Eid shopping – because seriously who still does that? Unless you count me buying stuff for my younger brother, because that’s the only Eid shopping I’ve been doing to be honest. What I mean is trying to get as much Ibadaah and and reading Qur’aan done before Ramadan leaves us.

Also, for the past 3 nights I’ve been going to East London Mosque to pray taraweeh! 😀 Now me and my mum went every day of Ramadan for 2 years (1430/31) but last year we couldn’t go as it was late, plus I was working at the Olympics. This year the issue of time and how late taraweeh was hindered us from going again. And honestly it sucked not being able to go. Once you go to pray taraweeh at the mosque in jamaah once, you don’t want to stop going. But anyway, Alhamdulillah the days have gotten slightly shorter since the beginning of Ramadan, and me and my mum have managed to go! 😀 (My brothers go with us too of course)

I had actually written half of this post yesterday, but was unable to finish it in time before I left for the mosque, so basically I’m adding to it and posting it today instead.

Now as you know, last night was the 27th night of Ramadan i.e. it could have been Laylatul Qadr. Laylatul Qadr can be on any of the odd nights, however people put high emphasis on it to be most likely on the 27th night. I’ve read up on how true this notion is, and all I’ve managed to come up with is ‘many scholars have agreed that the 27th night of Ramadan was Laylatul Qadr’ However I have yet to find a reason why scholars thinks this. If someone can give me a reason behind the emphasis on the 27th night it would be greatly appreciated 🙂 I did however find two hadiths:

Narrated ‘Aisha(ra): 
Allah’s Apostle (صلى الله عليه و سلم) said, “Search for the Night of Qadr in the odd nights of the last ten days of Ramadan.” [Sahih Bukhari Volume 3, Book 32:234]

Narrated ‘Ubada bin As-Samit(ra): 
The Prophet (صلى الله عليه و سلم) came out to inform us about the Night of Qadr but two Muslims were quarreling with each other. 
So, the Prophet (صلى الله عليه و سلم) said, “I came out to inform you about the Night of Qadr but such-and-such persons were quarreling, so the news about it had been taken away; yet that might be for your own good, so search for it on the 29th, 27th and 25th (of Ramadan). [Sahih Bukhari Volume 3, Book 32:240]

Tomorrow night is the 29th night of Ramadan, i.e. the last possible night it could be Ramadan, so make the most of it InSha’Allah! There is a surah in the Qur’aan called Surah Qadr:

  1. إِنَّا أَنْزَلْنَاهُ فِي لَيْلَةِ الْقَدْرِ
  2. وَمَا أَدْرَاكَ مَا لَيْلَةُ الْقَدْرِ
  3. لَيْلَةُ الْقَدْرِ خَيْرٌ مِنْ أَلْفِ شَهْرٍ
  4. تَنَزَّلُ الْمَلَائِكَةُ وَالرُّوحُ فِيهَا بِإِذْنِ رَبِّهِمْ مِنْ كُلِّ أَمْرٍ
  5. سَلَامٌ هِيَ حَتَّى مَطْلَعِ الْفَجْرِ
  1. Verily! We have sent it (this Qur’an) down in the night of Al-Qadr (Decree)
  2. And what will make you know what the night of Al-Qadr (Decree) is?
  3. The night of Al-Qadr (Decree) is better than a thousand months (i.e. worshipping Allah in that night is better than worshipping Him a thousand months, i.e. 83 years and 4 months).
  4. Therein descend the angels and the Ruh [Jibrael (Gabriel)] by Allah’s Permission with all Decrees,
  5. Peace! (All that night, there is Peace and Goodness from Allah to His believing slaves) until the appearance of dawn.

Whoever establishes prayers on the night of Qadr out of sincere faith and hoping to attain Allahs reward (not to show of) then all his past sins will be forgiven.

[Bukhari Vol 1 Book 2:34]

I’m currently going through a really difficult situation at the moment, which is another reason behind the lack of posts. If you could all keep me in your duas it would be greatly appreciated. All I can say is that I don’t understand how people can be heartless during Ramadan. How can you hurt your fellow Muslim brother/sister in such ways in this blessed month. This month is meant to be a month of change. If you can’t stop you hurtful, deceitful ways during Ramadan, when can you? Ramadan is a time for asking for forgiveness and from Allah, for Allah says in the Qur’aan:

3:133
And hasten to forgiveness from your Lord and a garden as wide as the heavens and earth, prepared for the righteous
3:134
Who spend [in the cause of Allah ] during ease and hardship and who restrain anger and who pardon the people – and Allah loves the doers of good;
3:135
And those who, when they commit an immorality or wrong themselves [by transgression], remember Allah and seek forgiveness for their sins – and who can forgive sins except Allah ? – and [who] do not persist in what they have done while they know.
3:136
Those – their reward is forgiveness from their Lord and gardens beneath which rivers flow [in Paradise], wherein they will abide eternally; and excellent is the reward of the [righteous] workers.
– Surah Al’Imran [3:133-136]
And here also:
24:22
And let not those of virtue among you and wealth swear not to give [aid] to their relatives and the needy and the emigrants for the cause of Allah , and let them pardon and overlook. Would you not like that Allah should forgive you? And Allah is Forgiving and Merciful.
– Surah An-Nur [24:22]
No one said forgiveness is easy. I can honestly say I am finding it extremely difficult to forgive right now. But Allah loves those who forgive, so who am I to not do what Allah loves?
That is all for today, just please keep me and my family in your duas. I will try tp post tomorrow, but as I said its the last possible Laylatul Qadr night, so we shall see what happens.
Until tomorrow InSha’Allah,
Tania’x
