Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Peace and Blessings everyone,

So I’m attempting to get this up before iftaar, (which is at 21:08 today in London) lets see how badly I fail this time round.. Its currently 19:38, and I just finished praying Asr, to put an idea in your head as to where I am in the day right now. I didn’t really know what to talk about in todays post, so if it goes of on tangents at points please bare with me.

If you follow me on twitter you’ll know that earlier today I tweeted ‘I hate hospitals :(‘. The reason being that I was currently in one at that time. (I only just got back from the hospital in fact). Yesterday we heard the news that an old work colleague-turned close friend of my dads was in hospital. When life takes hold of you, one thing leads to another, and months can go by without seeing/talking to certain people in our lives. But even though you may not speak to each other for lengths at a time, or even lose contact, you never stop thinking about that person and what they are doing in their lives at that moment.. This is what happened in regards to my parents and my dads colleague turned friend whom I call aunty.

My aunty had been in remission for a couple of years now, and recently after going a routine check up, the doctors gave her the worst news possible, the cancer had returned. And worse so, it had spread. Now until yesterday, my parents had no proper form of contact with my aunty, but somehow we managed to get a message about the fact that she wasn’t well and in hospital. But even then, we had no idea what hospital she would be in or anything.

All I can say is never doubt the power of dua. For Allah says in the Qur’aan:

 

And when my servants ask you concerning Me, then surely I am very near; I answer the supplicant when he calls upon Me, so they should answer My call and believe in Me, that they may walk the right way. (2:186)
Call unto Me, I will answer you. Those who are too proud to worship Me will enter Hell (40:60)
Call your Lord humbly and secretly, He loves not the transgressors (7:55)
And call on Him, fearing and hoping, surely the mercy of Allah is near to those who do good (7:56)

And yesterday I believe my dua was answered. For this morning my mum phoned a number related to my aunty – which she’d phoned numerous times before with no reply – and yet today – someone picked up! Alhamdulillah, my aunties sister picked up and we were able to get all the information we needed to go to visit my aunty.

One thing my aunty said during our visit to her was ‘when Allah wants us, he will take us, the question is whether or not we’re ready for it’. And it is so true. No one is guaranteed tomorrow in this life, so if you want to do something, do it today, don’t wait around for tomorrow. Especially when it comes to our faith. You hear comments such as ‘I’m not ready to start praying 5 times a day yet, I will though, soon’ – When is soon? And how do you know you’re going to live long enough to get to ‘soon’? You don’t.

The power of dua is honestly incredible. Ask and you shall recieve.  In a Hadith narrated by Abu Hurayrah, the Prophet (peace and blessings be upon him) said, “In the court of Allah, there is no greater thing than Duaa” (Ibn Majah)

The Prophet once said, “Dua is Ibadah” (Tirmidhi, Ibn Majah, and Abu Dawud). Since it is a type of worship, it is something that we must always do. This is even to the extent that the Prophet said, “Allah is extremely displeased with the person who doesn’t do duaa to Allah” (Tirmidhi).

The best times to make Dua is when one is in Sujood, the times between Adhan and Iqamah, as well as at other times as indicated by the following Hadith in which the Prophet said, “Three types of people’s Duas are not rejected: 1) At the time of Iftar the person who has fasted 2) Adil ruler’s Dua 3) The Dua of the oppressed. Allah raises the Dua of the oppressed on the clouds and the doors of heaven are opened for it and Allah says, “Oath of MY Majesty and Honor! I will help and aid you. Even though if the help is after few days.” (Tirmidhi)

Another Hadith listed another three in which the Prophet said, Three Duas are such in which there is no doubt of their acceptance: 1) Father’s Dua 2) Traveler’s Dua 3) Dua of the oppressed”. (Tirmidhi, Ibn Majah)

We are currently in the blessed month of Ramadan. I’ve mentioned it in previous posts and I’ve mentioned it in the hadith above – The dua of a fasting person at the time of iftaar is never rejected. To everyone reading this, use that time to make sincere dua to Allah, and it shall be answered, InSha’Allah.

Before I end this post, I just wanted to ask you all to please make dua for my aunty, for if you make dua for others, the same thing may also occur to you too.

Until tomorrow InSha’Allah,

Tania’x

