Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

As-Salaamu Alaikum to everyone reading this 🙂

Sooo day two! Where to begin?? After posting my first post yesterday, I asked my friends what they thought, and what topics I should touch upon.
A revert friend of mine mentioned a couple of topics which I thought were good, so I shall be talking about them in the next couple of days InSha’Allah.

I don’t know about you all, but one thing I have found about this Ramadan is the fact that there is hardly any night. In the UK iftaar is at roughly 21:20 and by the time you’ve finished eating and praying Maghrib, its almost 22:00! Then you have barely an hours rest before Esha azaan starts at 23:00.

After praying taraweeh I have found that instead of attempting sleep, I’d rather stay up and read some Qur’aan/ do Dhikr etc until suhoor time. After praying Fajr, then sleeping. Is anyone else the same, and if not, what is your night time routine during Ramadan?

The  East London Mosque is situated near where I live, and for the past 12 years, every Ramadan they get a radio license for one month to produce the ‘Muslim Community Radio’. Different shows air on MCR, from Womens Hour to the Iftaar Show, all offering a range of things from topical discussions to fiqh. May Allah bless the people involved with the running of MCR, because truly Ramadan would be different in my household without it. Don’t dispare if you’re not from London! You can listen to MCR online here from anywhere in the world – just be wary of time difference 😛

Getting back to the point of me mentioning MCR – today I came into the kitchen half way through the ‘Iftaar Show’ and as I was helping get things ready for iftaar, I heard that the topic of discussion was parents.

I am not sure if a caller called in asking, or if it was a story the presenter mentioned, but he said of how a man came to a sheikh (again, I’m not completely sure here, bare with me) and asked how he could repay his mother for all that she had done for him throughout his life. The sheikh replied that he could do as much as he could possible for his parents but whatever he did, would not cover the pain of even one contraction his mother felt when she gave birth to him. Subhan’Allah! You can do everything and anything for your parents, and it will still not be enough to repay them. And indeed we should not feel the need to think we can repay them for what they have done for us. Because the what they have given us is unrepayable.

The presenter mentioned another story, this one so heartbreaking it brought me almost to tears.

In a village in Bangladesh there was a Man who was an alcoholic (nauzubillah). And when he was drunk he would beat his mother senseless. One day passers by saw what the man was doing to his mother and called the police on him. The police arrive and when they go to arrest the man, his mother calls out ‘no! Don’t take him, he is my son’ Ya’Allah, even though he beat her black and blue, she still loved him, for he was her son. A parents love for their child is unconditional. So why is it so easy for us in this day and age to forget about our parents?

A dua for our parents that we should always recite:

“Rabbir ham huma kama rabba-yanee sagheera.”

17:24″Lord be merciful to them for they have brought me up in my childhood.”

No matter how bad a parent, no matter what they have done, at the end of the day, they are still your parents, and it is your responsibility to care for them and do everything in your power for them. Because they deserve it, it is their right.

That is all for today,

Until tomorrow InSha’Allah,

Tania’x

